I hear thunder : Astraphobia in manga

Hey again!
Hope you’ve all been doing well, watching good anime and reading great manga. I’m here today with another strange observation post.

Afraid of thunder? You aren’t alone in manga!

Whether sport or shoujo, manga always have some strange cliches: being late on the first day, the wonderful window seat, the secret hidden technique and the trap.
But as I was reading a couple of manga recently I just realised something. Aren’t there too many characters afraid of thunder?

Astraphobia, also known as astrapophobia, brontophobia, keraunophobia, or tonitrophobia is an abnormal fear of thunder and lightning, a type of specific phobia. It is a treatable phobia that both humans and animals can develop. The major cause known to develop astraphobia in people are a traumatic experience related with thunderstorms, rain and lightning.

Talking about statistics, it is a common fear, placed in the top 6 most common phobias including arachnophobia(fear of spiders), acrophobia (fear of heights), fear of dentists, aerophobia (fear of flying) and triskaidekaphobia (fear of the number 13).

7 Characters suffering from Astraphobia

All the statistics and data aside, here’s a list of manga characters suffering from astraphobia- the ones I remember at least!

  1. Hino Aso (FIVE by Shiori Furukawa)
    Hina Asou
    She is afraid of thunder and is very frank about her fear. She reveals later in the story that her house had been struck by lightening several times, hence creating a sort of trauma about thunderstorms and lightening.
    Aso-chan finds herself comfortable when there’s someone with her or she’s able to distract herself from the weather around.
  2. Haruhi Fujioka (Ouran Highschool Hostclub by Bisco Hatori)
    Episode1-01
    Ah, Haruhi. The unshakable, stoic Haruhi.
    I’m sure all the OHSHC fans remember that one scene were we witness Haruhi shaken up and terrified and Tamaki-kun comforts her.
    Yes, she has astraphobia.
    Haru-chan is an example of typical response to thunder and lightening when scared of it. She goes under tables or locks herself into cupboards to suppress her fear as it makes her feel ‘safer’. Researches prove that it is a technique that works for most people and is almost a conditioned response.
    For Haru-chan however, the manga provides no reason as to why she’s scared of thunder and that leaves us guessing as to what may have caused the fear.
  3. Pantherlily (Fairy Tail by Hiro Mashima) 
    Lily prop 2
    Like above mentioned, astraphobia is also prevalent in animals (Though I hate to call Pantherlily just an animal).
    One of my favourites in the whole series, the only crack in his tough exterior is his fear of lightening and thunder. (This is starting to become a pattern)
  4. Tooru Yamachika (FIVE by Shiori Furukawa)
    Tooru Yamachika
    Unexpectedly, even the student council president is scared of thunder. It’s revealed in the arc of test of courage, where he and Aso-chan are paired together. Then the thunder and lightening begins and we are left wondering how such coincidental twin fears are put together on a rainy day and whether it was done only to entertain sadistic readers(like me)… It might have for all we know!
  5. Elie-chan (Rave Master by Hiro Mashima)

    Elie-chan wakes up with amnesia, is attacked by some dude using lightening and immediately falls prey to Astraphobia. Honestly, I didn’t like the manga much, so I discontinued it pretty much immediately. Also, does Hiro-sanhave some particular hatred toward lightening? His characters are Astraphobic, that generally happens when the author themselves is too….
  6. Usagi Tsukino (Sailor Moon by Naoko Takeuchi)
    Image result for usagi tsukino
    Now then, it’s confession time. I haven’t actually watched Sailor Moon. I’ve only caught a couple of episodes here and there on TV (when they still had anime on it) and I didn’t like the manga’s art style at all, so I didn’t read it.
    Still I remember one episode where she loses control of her powers because of some monster creates a storm? Sorry, I don’t remember this one that much, just that she too is scared of thunder and lightening.
  7. Natsuki Koshimizu (Detective Conan by Gosho Aoyoma)
    Natsuki Koshimizu Profile.jpg
    This is one more of those anime I only caught a couple of episodes and didn’t bother with the manga. But I clearly remember the episode where the tomboy girl detective (whose name I only found out after searching today) Natsuki-chan collapses in terror in the mansion scene where a storm suddenly kicks up outside.

There are actually three more characters, but they’re from manhwa and I can’t remember which ones, so sorry about that!

Curing Astraphobia

  • Medication. If your astraphobia symptoms are causing you to experience high anxiety or depression, certain medications may help.
  • Therapy. If you experienced a trauma during childhood that sparked your fear of thunder and lightning, you will need to address it during psychotherapy.
  • Cognitive behavioral therapy. Learning new ways to perceive the world around you and identifying behaviors that harm you can help you to regain control of your reactions to thunder and lightning. However, it isn’t always that you need to seek professional help, not unless it is severely affecting your daily life.
  • Self help. Sometimes, especially if the fear is not crippling, doing things that give you comfort really help. Most manga show hugging people helps, but I’m sure you can’t trust shoujo to that extent….
    Most of the time, listening to calming music or distracting yourself by watching/ doing something you love helps too.

Despite all that, I, personally enjoy thunder and lightening so I guess I can’t associate much to this cliche…

What do you guys think? An overused fear or a justified one? Let me know in the comments if I’ve missed someone!
As always, thanks for reading~

24 thoughts on “I hear thunder : Astraphobia in manga

  1. It’s great to see new posts from you again: awesome! 😀😀 Well, I guess I don’t fall into this category myself. I have never been afraid of thunder/lightning. In fact I love it (as long as I don’t get struck by it that is 😉). I do have an irrational fear of wasps, but hey…we each have our phobias lol. I haven’t read a lot of manga (am trying a few these past few months), but I guess if that fear is used, it really isn’t overused. Quite a few of my friends are afraid of it, so it’s definitely not so far fetched. Great post! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Rai-san!
      Oh, so it common, huh? Good to know! Yeah, we do have our own phobias~
      I am not afraid of a material thing though. (I’m including ghosts in that)
      More like, I’m not quite sure of what I’m scared of yet, haha.

      Like

  2. Hmm, is there a name for the opposite? Because I love thunder and lightning. 😀 Specially when I’m on my computer working on something and I suddenly see that flash of white by my window, followed by that inevitable rumble in the sky. Always find it calms me and makes me feel more inspired. Is that weird..lol 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post about the fear of thunder and lightning. When I was a kid, I was terrified of thunderstorms a lot. I just hate the sound of thunder but lightning very dangerous when you’re outside. I guess I have every right to be afraid. I thought that the dark clouds were playing bowling or something… hahahaha! Anyway, when I was a teenager, I was waiting for my school bus outside during a thunderstorm. I was showing my bravery that I’m not afraid. As a young adult, my greatest accomplishment was that I drove through a highway during a thunderstorm without being afraid. I feel very proud of myself despite my phobia. Overall, thanks you for the tips of how to overcome a phobia of thunder and lightning. I really find your post an inspiration. Keep up the great work! 😃👍

    Liked by 2 people

  4. We don’t get too much thunder and lightning here, but I’ve heard it on occasion and it’s really loud! I can see why it could be scary for people.

    That being said, it does seem to pop up a bit too often. Hm.

    Thanks for the educational post, Auri!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As soon as I read the title, the name Nobita just popped out in my head. Well, childhood memories~
    I actually love lightnings and thunders; for me, rain isn’t enjoyable if it’s not accompanied by lots and lots of loud rumbling noises, wrapped underneath the mighty dark grey clouds (Rain is Life!).
    Now that I think about it, I can’t think of anything that fears me for now (I used to be afraid of ghosts and stuff a lot back when I was a child); I do get disgusted of reptiles and stuff like that so I guess that will have to do it for today?
    Great post as usual, Auri! Keep up the Good work!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Anime and Manga Blog Posts That Caught My Eye This Week: October 27, 2017 | Lesley's Anime and Manga Corner

Leave a Reply

