Kudou Senri: Depression or loss of identity?

Konichiwa! Hope you’re all doing well.
I just noticed that I’ve never posted a review about the series that I love. Strange, huh?
The reason for this is that most of my favourites are on going and I do not like reviewing on going series. However, I cannot use that excuse for Seiyuu Ka!, which most of you know is one manga I never got over. So, I decided to do a Seiyuu ka related post, because it was about time I started off with newer styles other than reviewing…
* Please note that this post is not a review or a character analysis. Topics may be long, analytic and uninteresting, maybe.*

A brief sketch of Kudou-kun’s background and character

Image result for kudou senri

Kudou Senri is the son of a famous actress. When he was younger, he was brought up learning how to act.
However, due to the way his mother taught him, he felt that his real feelings where an act too. He always thanked his friends for ‘acting as his friend’ and never realized that they where his true feelings of gratitude and love.
This makes him become a sort of loner who hides behind an act- or so he thinks.
When Hime (female lead) first meets him, she, like most others thinks of him as an arrogant popular voice actor.
Later on, as bits of his past come back, it is Hime who helps him ‘find’ himself.

 

What is depression and loss of identity?

Depression (major depressive disorder) is a common and serious medical illness that negatively affects how you feel, the way you think and how you act. Depression causes feelings of sadness and/or a loss of interest in activities once enjoyed. It can lead to a variety of emotional and physical problems and can decrease a person’s ability to function at work and at home.

American Psychriatic Association

In the manga, Kudou kun is described as someone who loses himself, i.e, he no longer knows which is an act and which is not.
While most of the readers, myself included, think of this as loss of identity, later on I realised it wasn’t something as simple as that.

Medical Definition of IDENTITY CRISIS/ LOSS OF IDENTITY: personal psychosocial conflict especially in adolescence that involves confusion about one’s social role and often a sense of loss of continuity to one’s personality

-Merriam Webster

As I researched more about depression and identity crisis, I began to see that identity crisis was similar to depression.
Here are the symptoms of depression as listed by the APA,

  • Feeling sad or having a depressed mood
  • Loss of interest or pleasure in activities once enjoyed
  • Changes in appetite — weight loss or gain unrelated to dieting
  • Trouble sleeping or sleeping too much
  • Loss of energy or increased fatigue
  • Increase in purposeless physical activity (e.g., hand-wringing or pacing) or slowed movements and speech (actions observable by others)
  • Feeling worthless or guilty
  • Difficulty thinking, concentrating or making decisions
  • Thoughts of death or suicide

Now, while reading up on depression, I noticed some similarities between the two-

  1. Senri kun felt sad and depressed because he no longer understood who Senri Kudou was.
  2. Losing himself meant that he no longer knew what he liked or enjoyed, leading to a strange sense of disappointment and disinterest.
  3. He thought that he was worthless. He tried to protect others from him, by distancing himself. He felt guilty and worthless.
  4. He hid his love and friendship, because he questioned himself. He couldn’t make decisions.

Here we have four obviously overlapping symptoms of identity crisis and depression.
And I only compared them in relation to one person.
As I think about this at length , I’m more and more convinced that identity crisis itself is a symptom of depression.

 

Kudou kun and me

The above analysis leads us to one obvious conclusion. Kudou Senri faced depression and loss of identity.
This seemingly simple statement got me to face myself, for whom Senri is the most relatable character in all that I have read. I see myself in him and him in me.
Which brings me to the hardest question, If I relate to Senri so much, do I face depression?

Image result for kudou senri

My immediate initial response was, Ha. Depression? Me? No way! I’m just hypochondriac!
But, to be fair, I made a list for me the very same way I did for Kudou Senri.

  1. I have short spans of sadness. Like when I wrote Two Sides of The Same Coin, Just One Wing, In The Name of Love,etc. However, they must last for longer than two weeks to be classified as depression. And they don’t.
  2. I don’t have any particular afflictions to many of the things I used to do before. The only thing I cannot give up ever is my music. This I’ve mentioned many times before, haven’t I?
  3. I constantly open and close the loops of my ringed ear rings.

But, and hear me out, but, I do not feel guilty, do not show any of the other symptoms and even these three aren’t in a span long enough to be called depression.
So I put the blame on teenage hormones.

And lately, I’ve been in one of my moods. Where I get annoyed easily and shut down, refusing to speak in situations I would have been difficult to shut up….
I really want some lone time but a lot of friends, family and acquaintances have been dropping over. I don’t hate them, I like them really, but… it’s been a draining couple of weeks.

 

Teenage depression?
Image result for kudou senri

Was Kudou kun too showing the same ‘teenage hormone’ effect?
I don’t think so. His past had a major impact on his current attitude. His is actual depression.
Teenagers are the most succumb able to depression and identity crisis, but Kudou’s is a different case altogether.

Coping and curing

There are a number of things people can do to help reduce the symptoms of depression. For many people, regular exercise helps create positive feeling and improve mood. Getting enough quality sleep on a regular basis, eating a healthy diet and avoiding alcohol (a depressant) can also help reduce symptoms of depression.

Depression is a real illness and help is available. With proper diagnosis and treatment, the vast majority of people with depression will overcome it. If you are experiencing symptoms of depression, a first step is to see your family physician or psychiatrist. Talk about your concerns and request a thorough evaluation. This is a start to addressing mental health needs.

Hime was Kudou kun’s balm, his healer. She was a bright, cheerful and outgoing girl who had her own set of troubles and didn’t let it affect her.
They both helped each other and Hime essentially pulled Kudou out of depression.

 

Let’s put all the cards away

I have a theory. It’s that depression is a state of mind rather than a medical condition. Yes I know, I built up a whole post over thousand words and now I’m saying I don’t agree?!!
No. Well yes. But no.

See, what I think is that depression needs treatment, but it does not have to be medical. Or even from another person.
Songs could help you. You could help yourself. There are a million possibilities out there, but only if you recognise it fast.

First off, there’s nothing wrong with being depressed. Being depressed does NOT and WILL not mean that you’re weak.
By accepting and working, you are stronger than most others.(I’m thinking about an incredible person called Yoongi as I write this.)

If you relate to the symptoms, you might not be depressed, but if you do feel that you are, Help Yourself. Talk to people close to you. Write anonymously if you don’t like talking about things about yourself to people you know.
But DO NOT IGNORE IT!

If you feel someone you know has depression, try to get it out of them. You don’t need to start to talk about it directly. Give them things to do, to think about and just silently support them.

It’s hard enough in the starting stages, but its harder later on. Better to get at it right in the beginning.

 

Kudou Senri

Let’s take a minute to understand him. Let’s take a lifetime to try and follow.
There are millions of things to learn from anyone and anything. Kudou a bit more than the rest.
Kudou fought depression without knowing what it was.
If we can spread a bit of awareness, it’d be great! Kudou, Kudos!

Anyway, hopefully, I didn’t bore you guys to sleep. If I did, I hope you had a good nap *winks*
As always, thank you for all the support, and apologies for the delays. *bows*
Arigato!

 

 

 

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Kudou Senri: Depression or loss of identity?

  1. Really….first of all: WOW!. That in short was how I felt after I read this post. You are hopefully kidding when you mentioned that you were afraid that you might have bored us to sleep. Well if you weren’t: not in the least! This was a very well written post about a subject I can relate to very much.
    A few years ago my father faced a depression and that was a really hard time. Both for him, but also for my mother and me. Eventually we got through it, but still it was very hard to do so. Currently one of my best friends is in a constant fight against depression. I try to be supportive as best I can, but it can be very hard. Especially when she has a very bad day, and at times lashes out about things. That can also have it’s effect on my own mood. It truly is hard, and yes there are a couple of things you can definitely do to try and brighten your mood. But unfortunately it does not always work like that. Still I always try to be as optimistic as I can. Giving support is definitely one of the best gifts you can give to someone who is facing depression, and to just let them know you are there for them.
    As I said, really loved reading your post! And ofcourse all I can say for your self is to take care, and at times say no to certain things. Having friends and family is great, but sometimes having some alone time, really is not bad either 😊😊 Goodluck, with everything 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s good to know that you liked it.
      I’m sorry about what you’ve been through. I generally hate saying sorry in these situations because honestly, I never felt it helped. But I can’t​ find words to console you, even though I really want to.
      I hope things get better with your friend. I think the fact that you’re staying optimistic is really inspiring, especially since I don’t think I would be in your situation.
      If there’s anything I can do to help (I don’t know if it’s likely) do let me know. Support is perhaps the only thing I can provide and I’ll be more than glad to give it

      Thank you for the good wishes!

      So you may have observed that I’ve been doing collaborations pretty often these days. I have the penalty from Remy Fool’s Collab left, but I wanted to ask if you would be interested in one.
      I’ve been toying with a couple of ideas and if you’re ok, we’ll discuss both our ideas and try to decide on one!
      Thanks again and hope you have a good day!

      Like

      1. It doesn’t really happen very often that I have trouble finding the correct words for something, but seriously I am a bit speechless here. Thank you very much for these amazing and kind words. It really means a lot, and it is so kind of you to offer help. My friend is fighting an uphill battle, and has both good and bad days, but I still try to be there as much as I can to offer support, even though at times it deeply affects me as well. Words like these you wrote really help as well, and honestly put a smile on my face 😊
        As for your question: I would truly be honored to do so. I have never done something like this before, but I would love to hear your ideas for it. So yes am definitely interested 😀
        I can’t thank you enough for this amazing response 😊 Hope you have a great day as well, and as I said looking forward to hearing your thoughts for the collaboration post 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great! I’m happy I helped 🙂

    Would you like to do a manga themed​ one or like literature and movie culture in general?
    I was thinking of ‘ five most innovative cliche scenes’ or something of that sort… Well, for topics like that we don’t need a specific theme so we could do both general and Anime…

    If you think top five lists are overused, perhaps we could do like a blog gather up post in which the posts that you think made you smile or agree vigorously can be linked with a brief description.
    But that wouldn’t really be a Collab so….
    Another one I was thinking about was to try watching a new movie, half each and try to guess what happens before or after. No cheating by reading wiki or anything ok?
    I think that would be an interesting post to write! 🙂

    What do you think we should do?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aargh….Wordpress can be so annoying sometimes. This comment did not show up in my reader section. I was wondering tonight if I should sent another message, but decided to first check the post itself out. Glad I did, but so sorry for this late response 😕
      Now on to your question. I do not read a lot of manga unfortunately, except for an occasional read (like on the Crunchyroll app or a very interesting one I am currently reading called I am a hero).
      Top 5 lists are always fun to do (I have done a few of these on my own blog in the special features sections). I also like the idea of the movie you are describing, that would make for a very unique and fun post 😀 I don’t think anyone has done something like that before.I like both ideas, so let me know which one you prefer to do. Either one is really fine with me 😀
      I will now not trust me reader section anymore, but just check back on this post to make sure I haven’t missed anything 😊😊 Once again my apologies 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No issues!
        I like the movie idea tbh…. But please, you choose the movie! Or it’s like I took over, hehe.
        I don’t mind other languages as well, so it’s completely fine if its of another language!
        Can I do the second half? If you want to change up some things, please just let me know!
        That’s it then… I’ll wait for your reply that’s not from the reader *wink*

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Lol, well my reply is faster this time (but ofcourse this time I looked straight when I came home). Cool…looking forward to this. Okay I will try and pick a movie….but….you pick the genre. What would you like to see? Anime, action, sci-fi, romance. Anything is fine with me 😊 And ofcourse the second question, when do you want to start, and what kind of format would you like the post to be? Let me know: and if you want to exchange some thoughts on how to do this: my emailadress is mvanderweide28@gmail.com. 😊

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

