Today Will Be a Wonderful Day.

Same story new day.
A look in the mirror.
Try out my Smile.
Yup! Today will be a wonderful day!

Down at the breakfast table
It’s like usual. A glare from mom.
A glare from dad.
Each trying to outdo the other.
Bow my head down. Of course.
Later today will be a wonderful day.

School was perfect.
A haven.
Quiet and peace. All I need.
No one talks. No one looks.
Finally, a wonderful day.

Spoke too soon.
Mom came to pick me up.
A trip to the ice cream shop.
A trip not for ice cream.
A trip to cry.About my dad.
I smile and tell her it will be fine.
It won’t though. We both know.
Still, I can still hope that Today will be a wonderful day!

It’s night, mom’s gone for her shift.
It seems calm again.
The door bangs.
Dad stumbles in.
The familiar smell on his breath. The typical slur.
Shit. Looks like Today shall not be a wonderful day…

I fall asleep, with my pillow wet.
A mother’s kiss on the forehead
and a father’s pat on the head.
I fall asleep after the night performance.
Yells and shouts. Cries and things falling.
Oh well. Tomorrow will be a wonderful day…

8 thoughts on “Today Will Be a Wonderful Day.

  1. Seeing this kid so hopeful every morning only to be disappointed by the day’s end is very touching. The fact that the quiet day at school where nothing happens makes them think the day is going well after all is telling also.

    It’s well written and makes me feel for this narrator. Thank you for sharing it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

